i’m back

December 31, 2008

after a month of coughing, aching, nose-blowing, and general oh-my-god-i’m-dying-pass-the-nyquil histrionics i am finally feeling back to normal.  i’d like to believe that the particular strain of cold that i had was especially virulent and toxic, so as to justify my bellyaching and exculpate my questionable immune system, but maybe it was just a plain ol’ cold and i’m a big snot-intolerant ninny.  just smile and nod when i whine about spending the entire month of december under a pestilent cloud of death.  

christmas came and went.  our planned week-long trip to the mountains was shortened to a brief 36 hour visit due to the aforementioned pestilence.  let me explain our trip with a little arithmetic:

(toddler + sinus infection) x altitude = no sleep + screaming

no sleep + screaming = mommy drinking heavily on the verge of a nervous breakdown.  

(also, if math were that simple when i was in high school my mom wouldn’t have had to meet with my calculus teacher to discuss my test scores my senior year.  in my defense, i had already gotten accepted to college and knew i wouldn’t be a math or science major so differential equations were not high on my list of priorities.)

i’ve been terribly remiss about blog posting, and i’ve barely touched my camera all month so i have totally slacked off with my 365 project.  should i just pick up where i left off?  should i try to fill in the past few weeks of missing pictures with a sort of “best of” series of old photographs?  should i just give up all together?  oh, for shame!  i really shouldn’t waste my time stressing about this because it’s not like i have an audience of disheartened readers who have been waiting on tenterhooks for my daily updates, yet i still feel like a failure.  (psychoanalytic side note: is it any wonder why i’m so anxious….just look at the expectations i place on myself and the sense of disappointment i feel when i don’t follow through.  and this is just a silly blog assignment!  just imagine how much i beat myself up when i really mess up on something that matters, or in situations when i could even potentially mess up something that matters.  except calculus.  messing that up didn’t really bother me that much.  i should really lighten up and not be so hard on myself.  i’m sure this all comes back to my mother on some level.  or actually, on many levels.)

but anyhow, i’m back on track.  or, rather, i am trying to get back on track.  i can finally breathe without triggering an uncontrollable coughing fit, i’ve been dayquil-free for a few days now, i was able to get on the treadmill on sunday for the first time in almost a month, i did an hour of yoga today without feeling like my sinuses were about to explode during every downward dog.  i’m ready to tackle 2009 with a healthy body and a liberal dose of vitamin C.   happy new year!

2 Responses to “i’m back”

  1. jkmastera Says:

    I missed your pictures, but you don’t have to do some silly blog project to post pictures on here!

  2. kathleen Says:

    Come back! I can’t do 365 all by my lonesome. I’ve got 10 more months of this. Come back!


Leave a Reply

