becoming resolute

December 31, 2008

i’m not really one to make new year’s resolutions.   i understand the notion of fresh starts and turning over new leaves and promises schmomises, but i know myself better than to expect january 1st to be a magical turning point of commitment.  i’ve been trying to make positive changes in my life for the past decade and none of them has ever stuck for longer than a few weeks at a time.  i’m just not that, er, resolute.

but, i’ve come up with a few things that i am going to take a stab at.  let’s not call them resolutions; i need a little wiggle-room to forgive myself when i don’t follow through.  let’s call them new year’s generalizations..things i’d like to improve and focus on in the new year. 

1) be better at meal planning and actually preparing and eating the groceries i buy.  try to waste less, eat out less.

2) be more consistent with exercise.  not for weight loss (i am honestly at a point in my life where i don’t need to lose weight, or perhaps i am just at a point where i don’t feel a need to focus on my weight.  i am quite satisfied and comfortable with my body lately, and that’s a good place to be) but just for overall health and well-being.  i don’t need to run 10 miles everyday,  i just need to be consistent.  even if it’s just taking a walk around the block or dancing like a fool in the living room…i just need to move my body everyday.  no more “feast or famine” approach to exercise. 

3) drink more water

4) be better at money management, tracking finances, budgeting, smarter savings.  this has never been my strong suit, but i’m trying.  

5) eat more vegetables

 

that’s it.  i think it’s a pretty reasonable and doable list.  how about you….any generalizations, or resolutions, that you’d like to make?

One Response to “becoming resolute”

  1. jkmastera Says:

    My “goals” for the new year are to (in no particular order):

    – continue to care for my body and the health of my unborn babies
    – eat more vegetables (I’ve been totally slacking on this, thanks for the reminder!)
    – be the best new mom I can be, and take friend’s and family’s offers of help if I need it
    – be the best wife I can be to a husband who is consistently outdoing himself
    – spend more time with my good friends
    – exercise more, and try to lose most of the baby weight by the end of the year
    – build our savings back up a tad


Leave a Reply

