turn around and let me put this "kick me" sign on your back

October 30, 2008

if you’re a wee, delicate flower, don’t go on the internet.  if you don’t like bullies, stay away from chat boards.  if you’re going to cry because someone doesn’t super pink puffy heart you, or doesn’t less than three you, take your tray and go to the other side of the cafeteria because i don’t want you sitting at my table anyway.  i met some of my very best friends on the internet, but i also “met” a lot of people that i didn’t like.  some of them were downright mean, some were just not my type.  none of them were worth getting in a tizzy over if they didn’t want me in their clique.  oh! mah! gah!  

i joined a message board a few years ago.  it was a great distraction when i was bored-at-work career gal, and a lifesaver in the lonely, isolated days of early stay-at-home-mommyhood.  over time, it became less important to me, especially as the fog of depression lifted and i reconnected with my motivation to actually do things.  it became less interesting.  it became unnecessary.  the distraction became just that…a distraction.  the girls that i met on that board – the ones that i really connected with – have transformed from “internet friends” to “in real life” friends.  (OMG! IRL!) we never would have met if it weren’t for that internet board, and for that i am truly grateful.

so why am i bringing this up?  (totally lame, is it not?) because some of us defected (GASP! TREASON! TRAITORS!) from the public board and started our own “supersecret” board, and were called out for it. (again, totally lame).  i’m 30 years old and i am in a clique for the first time in my life!  sweet!  

these girls are my friends.  i see some of them in person multiple times a week.  i text and email all of them regularly.  we workout together, we shop together, we drink together, we vacation together, we celebrate our babies’ birthdays together, we go to dinner together.  but having a message board together is a punishable offense.  

next time we have a party, we’re inviting the ENTIRE INTERNET, so check your mail for the evite. it’s gonna be huge.  but bring your own chair, because you can’t sit by me.

7 Responses to “turn around and let me put this "kick me" sign on your back”

  1. Nicole Says:

    what! a secret board!!! sniff sniff and I wasn’t invited? lol

    For the record, good for you guys that you are still keeping in touch! I was wondering what happened to some of the oldies!

  2. jkmastera Says:

    I couldn’t have said it better myself.

  3. Bernadette Says:

    You crack me up.
    I don’t think you guys need to explain shit and Im sorry there is drama.
    I do miss you photoshopping gay pictures of my husband and talking about my rack though.

  4. Megan Says:

    It’s silly. And I don’t blame ya’ll for doing what you did. I’m just glad that I can keep in touch via Facebook or on your blogs! I just hope the feeing is mutual! Or should I leave this table? ; )

  5. Ondrea Says:

    LOL at “can’t sit by me”

  6. kpapa Says:

    UGH. And I thought I’d we had graduated from the 6th grade…. that sucks. I’m sorry people are so needy and bitchy and ridiculous.
    ____

    And you’d better invite the whole internet next time, BIOTCH, or ELSE!!! 🙂

  7. Amanda Says:

    Wow. What drama. I’m glad I haven’t been on lately (started a new job and moved into our house), but I check in on certain blogs from time to time. I love your writing and perspective. And your pics are pretty fab, too. Just wanted to say hi…keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

