365 project: day 2

October 2, 2008

 

confession: i didn’t even step outside the house today.  my baby was up from about 4:30am, fussing in her crib.  i realized later that she was probably cold, but did i even go into her room to check?  nope.  that “mom of the year” award must be on its way any day now.  she was cranky all day.  is it teeth?  gas?  general toddler crankitude?  who knows.  whatever it is, i hope it doesn’t last long.

my picture-taking opportunities in the house are somewhat limited, but i snapped a quick picture (with my little point-and-shoot camera) during the VP debate.

i don’t want a pageant princess or hockey mom as our vice president.  i don’t want someone who can simply memorize a list of facts and pretend that she knows about foreign policy and our current economic crisis.  i want a candidate who has experience, who has a working knowledge of the constitution as it applies to 2008, who can identify a single landmark supreme court decision to which she is opposed, who doesn’t believe that dinosaurs roamed the earth 4000 years ago, who believes in a woman’s right to choose, and who doesn’t hunt animals for sport with high powered rifles.  i want someone who can respond to journalists’ questions with intelligent, factual answers instead of giving “shout outs” and “you betchas”.  i want someone who doesn’t lower the expectations of american political candidates. 

ignorance is not good.

4 Responses to “365 project: day 2”

  1. Angelika Says:

    It is like my sister is running for VP…I shit you not. Freaks me out. Every time I see that cheesy fake smile and listen to her “Aw shucks” speeches, I get all twitchy and my stomach starts churning.

    I also find it fascinating that she is so adamant about being pro-life yet she mercilessly shoots down wolves from a helicopter…wolves that live in the Alaska-freaking-wilderness.

    I hate her. I can’t even stomach looking at her. As a woman, she disgusts me.

    And she really ought to get that “eye twitch” (aka winking) looked at…it could be a sign of some sort of neurological issue.

  2. kpapa Says:

    You forgot “a VP who knows how to pronounce the word ‘nuclear'”. At least she makes good fodder for SNL. And I cannot fathom her ticket winning, so I’m trying not to worry.

  3. kristen Says:

    I was going to make the “nuclear” point, but kpapa beat me to it. I can’t stand her. She was so stiff and nervous… And she should have been. Biden rocks, and was outstanding in that debate, I think.

    I HATE that she’s the woman in this position. Why not a stupid man instead — a la Dan Quayle? Honestly, that wouldn’t have been hard for McCain to find. Then, we could have still remarked on the inadequacies without it being about gender at all.

  4. Kim Says:

    I just found your blog from D&R board – and I’m in total agreement. I think its terrifying that she is in the position to possibly be vice president. There is nothing about her that would make me want to vote for her – I read somewhere, “Just because she’s a woman candidate, doesn’t mean she’s MY woman candidate.” This is exactly how I feel.

    She’s a beauty queen and wanted to be a sports caster – of course she can memorize things. This is precisely what she did during the debate – MEMORIZE. If this was unclear, figure out another explanation of why she never actually answered the questions asked.


Leave a Reply

