on politics and friends

August 29, 2008

(warning: this is going to be totally rambling and disjointed, but it’s just a random thought so bear with me)

on one of the message boards i visit, one of the more conservative gals said something along the lines of “why can’t we all just be friends” when a heated political democrat vs. republican debate began to simmer.  

why would we be friends?  we have nothing in common.  sure, we can be friendly with each other and respectful of each other, and maybe this is all she was asking for, but in my life i tend to befriend people with whom i share common interests and common beliefs.  i know this may come off sounding incredibly closed minded, but why would i be friends with someone whose beliefs, especially the big-ticket items of belief, are so drastically different than mine?  even i put political affiliations aside, how could i be friends with someone who is fundamentally opposed to issues that are deeply ingrained in who i am and are such a big part of my personality.  and really, why would she want to be friends with a pro-choice, gay-loving, bleeding-heart liberal like me?

so, tell me…are you and your friends similarly minded when it comes to politics?  do you tend to agree or respectfully disagree?  are you mindful of political beliefs when it comes to forming friendships?

4 Responses to “on politics and friends”

  1. kristen Says:

    are you and your friends similarly minded when it comes to politics?

    YES.

    do you tend to agree or respectfully disagree?

    WE AGREE. OR, WE RESPECTFULLY DISAGREE… BUT I STILL DON’T REALLY RESPECT THEM IF I DISAGREE. (ha.)

    are you mindful of political beliefs when it comes to forming friendships?

    NO. but seriously? i don’t have to be. the people I draw into my life are already LIKE me… like you. 🙂

  2. Angelika Says:

    Wait – does this mean you are NOT a Republican?

    Oh thank heavens – we can still be friends then.

  3. jkmastera Says:

    LOL Angelika!

    I’m about as left as they come, and you know what – I don’t have a hard time being friends with those who have different political (or religious or whatever) views than I have. Actually, one of my best friends is a registered Republican, but she does have the same views I have on equal rights for gays and she is extremely pro-choice, so I can deal. We don’t really discuss politics, but if we do, we just have to agree to disagree when we aren’t seeing eye to eye.

    That said, I most definitley prefer to have friends with the same views that I have, and that’s why I’m friends with you!

  4. Isaac Says:

    No, I don’t agree with them. They agree with me.


Leave a Reply

