100 things about me

July 14, 2008

1. i can watch “the princess bride” over and over and never get tired of it.

2. i made my husband watch it on our second date.  he didn’t like it.

3. i married him anyway.

4. i am addicted to toast: one slice with peanut butter and honey, the other with butter and jam.

5. i have chronic insomnia.

6. right now i wish i could sleep without sleeping pills, but i don’t see that happening anytime soon.

7. i write, eat, and brush my teeth left-handed.  

8. i do everything else right-handed.

9. songs and commercial jingles get stuck in my head really easily.

10. i will probably stab you if you sing the chili’s “baby back ribs” song around me.

11. that is not an invitation.

12. i adore my macbook.

13. her name is doreen.

14. my ipod is named celeste.  they were both named after songs by the old97’s.

15. i love the old97’s.

16. i am terrified of snakes.

17. i hate to fly.

18. i love reality TV and i am not ashamed to admit that i watch the bachelor.  every season.

19. i met my husband online.

20. he asked me to marry him 8 days later.

21. i said yes.

22. but then we waited a couple of years to iron out the kinks.  it’s a good thing we waited.

23. we had only 25 guests at our wedding.

24. and probably 75 bottles of wine.

25. i may have consumed a few of those myself.

26. i can only ever remember the punchline to two jokes. neither of them are all that funny.

27. yet i tell them every time i get drunk

28. i haven’t been drunk in a long time.

29. i stopped drinking recently (i didn’t want it messing with my meds) and i lost a bunch of weight.  go figure.

30. i secretly wish that i could have been a cheerleader in high school but i was afraid that my sister would tease me. 

31. and i am decidedly not perky.

32. i do look good in skirts, however.

33. i took up lacrosse instead so i still got to wear a skirt. ok, technically it was a kilt, but i was carrying a big stick so i’ll call it whatever i please.

34. i hope my daughter will feel confident in pursuing whatever sports and hobbies she chooses.

35. i’ve become a decent cook, but most nights i am too tired so i’d rather eat takeout.

36. that isn’t feasible so i often end up eating toast for three straight days.  (see #4).

37. prior to my current relationship i made a lot of stupid choices that i wish i could undo.

38. i refer to this period as “my twenties.”

39. so far, the thirties are much better.

40. nails on a chalkboard really is like nails on a chalkboard to me.

41. when i worked at an elementary school i hid all my chalk so the kids couldn’t write on the board.

42. i have a masters degree that i never plan on using again.

43. i wish i had the time, energy, and know-how to plant a veggie garden.

44. i use the word “y’all” even though i’ve never lived in texas and never plan to visit it.

45. i believe that all politicians are lying, slick-fingered show(wo)men.  i just want the one who will do it with the most style.

46. my family moved from NorCal to SoCal the summer before my junior year in high school.

47. we would have moved a year earlier but my mom wanted my sister to be able to graduate with her class.

48. her reasoning for uprooting me instead was that i was “much more well-adjusted.”

49. i handled it fine.

50. but “well adjusted”?  me? HA!  i must have had them all fooled.

51. my early teen years were not easy.  looking back now i think i was quite depressed. 

52. i’d move back to san diego if there were fewer people, fewer freeways, and a lower cost of living.

53. i miss the beach.

54. i want to give up all my possessions and go live a simple live on a small tropical beach somewhere.

55. i don’t think i have very good taste in music.

56. or clothing.

57. i am in need of a new wardrobe.

58. i want stacy and clinton to be the ones to help me get it.

59. i have a bit of a dirty-little-secret crush on bill clinton.  and also tom brokaw.

60. i’ve gone through really lonely periods in my life.

61. i don’t feel that way now.

62. i have some great friends.

63. i will always need alone time though.  i am an introvert.

64. specifically, i’m an ISTJ if that means anything to you.

65. i have a vicious sweet tooth.

66. there is no better sound in the world than my daughter’s laughter.

67. there is no better smell than the scent of her skin after a bath.  it’s a mixture of vanilla, nectarine, lemon, and sweet baby newness.

68. i was disqualified from the spelling bee in second grade because i misspelled ‘insect’ as I-N-C-E-S-T.  whoops. 

69. i am really good at starting new hobbies but terrible at following through with them.

70. i use cloth diapers on my baby.

71. i’ll try not to judge you if you don’t.

72. it’s an addictive and expensive habit. 

73. i can’t remember anything from college or grad school but i can recall the plot line of almost every episode of law and order: SVU

74. i’ve never been to europe.

75. when i was 21 i set a goal of running a marathon by the age of 30.

76. i trained for the race for months and then didn’t do it.

77. and then i got pregnant.

78. having a baby is much more challenging than a marathon.

79. even my worst day as a SAHM Is far better than my best day at my old job.

80. i wasn’t expecting to struggle with my mental health after having a child.

81. but it’s been a battle.

82. at this point, i think i am winning.

83. i am much more patient than i used to be.

84. i believe that all perfect meals should include cheese.

85. i love yoga.

86. windy days make me feel completely unhinged.

87. i need sunshine to preserve my sanity.

88. i love tv shows about prisons and serial killers.

89. i think the criminal mind is fascinating.

90. i have too much of a guilty conscience to break the law.  not that i would, anyway.

91. perhaps i was catholic in a former life.

92. in my next life i want to come back as a well-loved dog.  nothing but sleep and belly rubs all day.

93. i have a fear of being trapped under water.

94. for this reason, i will never go on a cruise.

95. Titanic made me break out in a cold sweat.

96. i always say, “bless you” when someone sneezes…even strangers.

97. i try to remember to count my blessings every day.

98. life is good. 

99. even when it is hard.

100. the end.

3 Responses to “100 things about me”

  1. Teresa Says:

    Just wanted to say that this is a fantastic list. You’ve inspired me to write my own, even if I never share it. Thank you.

  2. Kerry Says:

    I think I will do the same…great list, buddy!

  3. Kristen Says:

    LOVE this. i share many with you. except i think that my best day at my job does beat my worst as a SAHM. i think there is nothing more difficult than SAHM-ing.


Leave a Reply

